Mithras Law Group Immigration Blog

Global Immigration and Business Solutions

Posts Tagged ‘H-2

11 New Countries Added to the H-2 Visa Programs

leave a comment »

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has issued a notice identifying 39 countries whose nationals are eligible to participate in the H–2A and H–2B programs for the coming year. The H-2A and H-2B non-immigrant visa programs, allows U.S. employers to bring foreign nationals to the United States to fill temporary or seasonal jobs for which U.S. workers are not available

Department of Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano has recently designated 11 new countries as eligible to participate in the H-2A and H-2B non-immigrant visa programs. These new countries are:

Croatia, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Ireland, Lithuania, The Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Serbia, Slovakia and Uruguay, which join 28 countries previously designated as eligible to participate in these programs.

It should be noted that the initial lists of participating countries for the H-2A and H-2B programs—published in December 2008—expired on January and that this notice does not affect the status of aliens who currently hold H-2A or H-2B non-immigrant status.

Now the following 39 countries are eligible to participate in the H-2A and H-2B visa programs:

Argentina, Australia, Belize, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Guatemala, Honduras, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Lithuania, Mexico, Moldova, The Netherlands, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay.

DHS has also said that it may allow a worker from a country not on the participating country list to be eligible for the H- 2A or H-2B program if such participation is in the interest of the United States.


Written by MithrasLaw

January 26, 2010 at 9:43 am

%d bloggers like this: